Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Sometimes a walk to nowhere may end up leading you to somewhere… so never stop walking.” – Me

I’ve been intending on working on a post of a small trip to anywhere by documenting it with just my phone. So, here goes nothing.

I went to the nearest store to get my cellphone fueled up for the coming month and as I was returning, I noticed these things which I would’ve normally looked right through on any other day. It started with this, a coin box phone. It brought back memories of when I’d just gone away to college and I didn’t have a mobile phone back then. I used to have so many numbers at the back of my head and would spend just a Rupee/minute to call any of my classmates and there was this one coin box phone which could call STD, translated meaning home and best friends around the country for just 2 Rupees/minute. Those were the beautiful days when calling home was what I looked forward to every Saturday. All these many years later, I stay at home and hardly talk to people in the next room. Thanks to the advancement of technology, we have all the numbers we need on a machine which gets synced with all your social networking accounts so you’d only have to worry if you happen to forget all your passwords simultaneously!! (I’m still trying to figure out whether or not that’s a good thing :/)

Image

I walked past the coin box phone and just about 15 metres away, my eyes spotted a red post box!! I nearly jumped in glee as I saw it and well, as I was clicking a picture of it with my phone, maybe I did do a little dance. Hahaha!! I’m highly amusing even to myself sometimes and as I walked nonchalantly by, happy with my find, I couldn’t help but feel the bewildered looks and glares from the orthodox residents of Chennai. Back to the mail box, well it did bring back memories of a particular pen friend I had back in school who was a friend from school who moved away to Kolkatta. What fun those days were, picking out fancy writing pads. I still remember that I had one which had roses on it!! Hehehe… Such memories!!

Image

 I entered my society entrance and for some reason just wanted to walk around a little (have some alone time/ scaring the neighbors by just being there/ click pictures to make them think I’m nutty) and I walked to the playground where I remember baby-sitting so many kids. These kids are all now friends on Facebook… Strange to think of them as grown ups now when you’ve carried them around on your back and taken them doubles on your cycle. Nostalgia… I sat in that very same playground which was empty for some reason, maybe I was a bit too early and stared up at the trees which had given me so much comfort during my troubled teenage phase. I couldn’t not take a picture of those trees, my haven! The more I stared at them, the more they started resembling road networks in cities and arteries of the heart and then I realized that I had grown up and what I saw in them all those many years ago wasn’t what I was looking at right now. All in all, it was a fun 30 minutes spent in pondering and tripping down memory lane… enough to make a blog entry I would think… wouldn’t you?!

Image

Image

 P.S… And also I love the snow… I keep coming back to blog so that I can enjoy the snow fall for as long as it lasts (Jan 4th!)

