Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

 

Shot at the Sarkhej Rosa, Ahmedabad in Gujarat which lies in the western part of India. It’s a shot of one side of the mosque complex, also known as the masjid. It’s a place of worship for the Muslims and this is from the Mughal Era. I visited this in the year 2011 when I was visiting Ahmedabad (not knowing that I would eventually move there a month later and spend nearly 2 years there)

Mathematically, the word is defined as the property or manner of approaching a limit, such as a point, line, function, or value. Visually, it’s more of an optical illusion wouldn’t you think? The repetition of elements and the view point makes the image appear to be converging to the centre or diverging from it when in fact, it isn’t neither. Aesthetically, it’s a photographic gold mine!! I click a lot of pictures like this wherever I go because the symmetrical balance of such an image is a challenge and I never let such an opportunity pass. At the time, I thought that the kids would disrupt my frame but now when I look at it, they kind of completed it and gave the picture some life.

