Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Gratitude is a quality similar to electricity: It must be produced and discharged and used up in order to exist at all.” — William Faulkner

Image

I remember writing a letter of thanks to one of my bosses for all that I had learnt in that short time in the office and I remember laughing at myself along with others who thought that was the most hilarious thing I had done, when not intoxicated. My flatmate would think and say otherwise but that is for another entry. I’ve always thought it is very important to give thanks for every little thing that I’ve been blessed with and there is no better time than ‘Thanksgiving’ to do just that.

I would like to start this post with saying ‘Grace’ to the Lord Almighty for his bountiful blessings which just keep on coming, no matter however far I stray. You have pulled me out of the tightest spots and I would be lying if I said that I have not come very close to giving up but faith is something that you don’t lose that easily and I haven’t. I might not read the Bible or go to church on a regular basis but I doubt that makes me less of a Christian than anybody else who does.

I thank my family who have supported me through all my crazy phases and job shifting; silently believing that I will find my way sooner or later. I’d like to believe that I am all that I am only because of them and I thank my stars for being blessed with such undying support. My brothers, who have been stronger than the ‘Rock of Gibraltar’ during every fall are the only reason I have had the courage to go on pursuing my dreams, however crazy everybody else thought it might be. I love you guys!

Someone once told me that they were envious of my ability to make friends with almost anyone and it put a smile on my face then as it does now. I have had the pleasure of meeting the most wonderful people in my life who I’ve fought with, sang with, played with, studied with, acted with, grown up with and fallen in love with and each and every one of them holds a special place in my heart, however far they might be. Thank you for touching my life in so many ways that I cannot even begin to explain! I only hope that I have been as good a friend to all of you.

I want to thank my better half for coming into my life at a point when I don’t think I actually deserved someone there. He has been the reason for my happiest highs and my lowest lows and the very fact that I know he’s around to fight with makes me sleep with the widest smile on my face. We have had moments when we thought the world was caving in against us and I think it still is and I don’t know the future but I know that this is a phase we’ll laugh about later, no matter what the outcome. I love you just as much as I love myself and that, love… is saying a lot!

I want to end this post by thanking all the little kids who have come into my life in the past few months who have taught me so much about myself, apart from other things. Their undying urge to please and love unconditionally and most importantly, their willingness to battle out the most trying situations gives me the strength and hope I need to push myself to the zenith.

Last but not the least, because without you… there would be no one to read this… my readers… Thank YOU for all the support you have shown me in the past years by reading my rantings and continuing to follow me and my life through its trials and tribulations. I would be nowhere without you! Your every like and comment makes me giddy with joy and it will continue to do so until my dying day. (I had to make it a bit dramatic!) 

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,

Anjali Paul

Picture courtesy: http://campusinvolvement.umich.edu/sorc/files/sorc/field/image/simpsons.gif

